Ayurveda is "knowledge of life", a deep knowledge and spiritual legacy of ancient India for over 5000 years.

It is a philosophy and a lifestyle. As such, it provides practical advice to be well with yourself and with others. For example, Ayurveda tells us: "If every morning upon awakening, we did not want to start our day smiling and enthusiastic, it means that something does not work very well with us, there is a imbalance, dysfunction. "

Ayurveda teaches then how to balance energies in the physical, vital, mental, psychic and spiritual, to be good about yourself and evolve. Naturally, Ayurvedic medicine is a branch of Ayurveda.

The theory of five elements and three doshas

The universe operates from the energy of five elements: ETHER, AIR, WATER, FIRE and EARTH.

Each human being is a microcosm of nature, is composed of these five elements in different proportions. It is these proportions that determine its true nature, Ayurveda distinguishes three "doshas", or types of constitution they themselves made up of five sub-doshas:

Ether and Air VATA dominant

PITTA predominant Fire and Water

Earth and Water KAPHA predominant

Although the three doshas are found in every human being, one component is usually predominant.

The vital energy provides the relationship between these elements. It circulates through our bodies along numerous channels (meridians), and Ayurvedic treatments, among which are the massages, designed to harmonize at best.

Health is the result of a perfect balance between man and environment and between the various components of man.


Indian Proverb: Do good to your body so that your soul may want to stay.






Last edited: 2018-11-20